The Three Scrum Artifacts and Their Commitments

As you learn about Scrum, you'll find out it defines three artifacts: product backlog, sprint backlog, and a potentially releasable product increment.


Pavel Dabrytski, Geoff Watts, and Jesse Fewell Describe the Three Scrum Artifacts

The Three Scrum Artifacts

Scrum uses three artifacts to help manage work. All three are defined and described below.

Product Backlog

The product backlog is an ordered list of everything that is known to be needed in a product based on the product goal. It is constantly evolving and is never complete.

Sprint Backlog

The sprint backlog is a list of everything that the team commits to achieve in a given sprint. Once created, no one can add to the sprint backlog except the development team. 

Potentially Releasable Product Increment

At the end of every sprint, the team delivers a product increment that is potentially releasable, meaning that it meets their agreed-upon definition of done. (An example might be fully tested and fully approved.)

Want to learn more? Enroll in our free Introduction to Scrum eLearning module

Ready to get a Scrum certification?

Find your Course

Stay Connected

Get the latest resources from Scrum Alliance delivered straight to your inbox